Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund (CICF) Information
WHO CAN FILE A CLAIM? The following persons that have suffered personal injury, mental trauma or death directly related to a violent crime:
Parent or Legal Guardian of child victim
Citizen trying to prevent a crime
Surviving spouse, parent, grandparent, sibling or child
Person legally dependent on support from deceased victim or offender removed from home
WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR AN AWARD? The crime must have occurred in Virginia, or to a resident of Virginia, if crime occurred in a territory where a compensation program does not exist.
Crime must have been reported to law enforcement within 120 hours, unless good cause is shown for delay.
CICF application must be filed within 1 year of the commission of the crime, unless good cause is shown for delay.
The victim must participate in the criminal justice process.
WHO IS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR AN AWARD? A victim who participated in or contributed to the crime; engaged in illegal activity; or knowingly submitted false information to CICF.
WHAT CAN I APPLY FOR? The maximum total award is $15,000.00.
Mental health expenses
Survivor mental health expenses
Funeral or burial expenses
Loss of wages
Loss of financial support
Crime scene clean-up
Other crime-related expenses such as locks and doors, prescriptions, or eyeglasses
CICF WILL NOT PAY FOR:
Pain and suffering
Motor vehicle accidents, except DUI
HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE? On average, it can take 6 months for CICF to obtain all required documentation that is needed to make a decision on a claim.
CICF tries to take the burden off the victim by obtaining all the necessary information directly; however, the claim moves faster if the victim can provide CICF with information that is being requested.
Once an award is made, an award letter is sent to the claimant immediately, however it may take 30 days for the victim or provider to receive a check. Checks are mailed from the Treasurer of Virginia.