News Flash

Fire-Rescue

Posted on: February 14, 2020

Virginia Department of Forestry - 4:00 P.M. Burning Law In Effect Through April 30th

4PM Burning Law - Image

The Virginia Department of Forestry 4 p.m. Burn Law is in effect from February 15th through April 30th.

The 4:00 PM Burning Law specifies:

  • No burning until AFTER 4:00 p.m. February 15 through April 30 of each year, if the fire is in or within 300 feet of woodland, brushland or field containing dry grass or other flammable material.
  • Fire shall not be left unattended if within 150 feet of woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass.
  • No new fires set, no fuel added, or fire rekindled after midnight.
  • Law applies to campfires, warming fires, brush piles, leaves, household trash, stumps, fields of broomstraw and brush or anything capable of spreading fire.
  • The law provides for a penalty of up to $500, plus payment of court costs and fire suppression costs if the fire escapes.

For questions or more information about the 4:00 p.m. Burning Law contact the local Virginia Department of Forestry office at (540) 967-3702 or Goochland County Fire-Rescue (804) 556-5304.

Citizens are reminded and strongly encouraged to consult the open burning regulations for Goochland County before conducting any open burning year-round.  Prior to all open burning, the Goochland County Sheriff’s Office must be notified at (804) 556-5348 with the location and times of the burning.

A summary of the open burning regulations is available on Goochland County Fire-Rescue and Emergency Services webpage at http://www.goochlandva.us/DocumentCenter/View/349/Goochland-County-Burning-Regulations.  If you have any questions regarding open burning, please contact the Goochland County Fire-Rescue and Emergency Services Office of the Fire Marshal at (804) 556-5365.

VA Department of Forestry - Outdoor Fire Laws
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Fire-Rescue